Kayaking & Snorkelling in Philipsburg, St. Maarten

In late August 2011, my family and I went on the Oasis of the Seas for a Caribbean cruise adventure. I knew that I had to do an excursion for at least one of the ports we were visiting. So on the last port at St. Maarten, my brother, sister and I decided to go kayaking and snorkelling on the coast of Pelican Keys and Simpson Bay.

Scuba Instructor Leading us

Three of Us Scuba Diving

Going back to the port

As you can see, my waterproof disposable film camera and its lacking ability to take great shots ended up creating antique and faded shots without any added filters, which in a way was kind of neat. I wasn’t able to take any shots while kayaking because I was busy working hard to catch up with the group. Snorkelling the reef around Pelican Rock wasn’t as amazing as I thought it would be. I couldn’t see a lot of fishes and as you can see in one of the pictures, the water wasn’t very clear. Nonetheless, it was a great experience kayaking along a beautiful coast and snorkelling for the first time. The only thing that ruined my excursion was getting seasick while kayaking cause of the constant movement of the kayak going over the waves. I had to take Gravol afterwards and was drowsy for the whole afternoon. Other than that, I got to spend the morning exercising, traveling and enjoying the beauty of nature.

– Stephanie Carmen

One thought on “Kayaking & Snorkelling in Philipsburg, St. Maarten

  1. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very
    well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more
    of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

Leave a Reply

